The single most important factor in a student’s success is an excellent teacher. Most of us can name a teacher who had a major impact on our education or career choice. To recognize educators and their vital roles, the country is celebrating National Teacher Appreciation Week, May 7-11.

Even the smallest act of kindness can help show your gratitude, like sharing a picture of yourself with an influential teacher or a picture of your child with their teacher and a simple thank you message on social media using #TeacherAppreciationWeek.

House Republicans are working to encourage the best and brightest to enter the teaching profession and make a difference in students’ lives. We created the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, which was recently awarded to 200 highly qualified students across the state. The scholarship is available to top-performing students each year who commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years after college graduation. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license. Learn more about the scholarship here.

Each year, the Indiana Department of Education conducts the Indiana Teacher of the Year program to recognize outstanding classroom teachers from across the state. One person is chosen to represent Indiana teachers at the national level. For more details and to apply for 2019 Indiana Teacher of the Year, click here.

We are fortunate to have the leadership and perspective of multiple educators in the state legislature. As teachers and public servants, Reps. Tony Cook, Wendy McNamaraand Jeff Thompson all work tirelessly to make Indiana a great place for our children.

Please take a moment this week to make sure our Hoosier educators know they’re valued!